### SUMMARY OF THE 151st ANNUAL COMMUNICATION



Most Worshipful Grand Master Lewis K. Smith, III opened and presided over the 151st Annual Communication of the Grand Lodge A.F. & A.M. of Montana held in Missoula, Montana, on June 22, 23 and 24, 2017.

#### **Attendance at the Communication**

Elective Grand Officers:	06	Proxies for Junior Wardens:	03
Appointed Grand Officers:	11	Secretaries:	29
Past Grand Masters:	10	Treasurers:	23
Other Past Grand Officers:	17	Past Masters:	100
Worshipful Masters:	34	Duplicates:	110
Senior Wardens:	12	Others present not entitled to vote:	7
Junior Wardens:	10	Total Brethren:	154
Proxies for Worshipful Masters:	01	Total Voting Members	147
Proxies for Senior Wardens:	01		

Lodges represented: 62 of 86

### **Awards**

Montana Masonic Hall of Fame: Joseph R. Simpson (86)

**Secretary of the Year**: Kenneth M. Bates (33)

**Distinguished Service Medal (Silver)** for eminent service to Montana Masonry: Jim Trowbridge (38)

**The Meritorious Service Medal (Bronze)** awarded for outstanding service to Montana Masonry: John R. Davis (18); Ron Wetsch (36); Terry Grant (55); Ron Clark (70)

**Theodore Thomas Williams Youth Leadership Award**: Thomas Valente (6/18). A special Honorary presentation of the TTW Youth Leadership award was presented to Thomas Spencer.

**Cornelius Hedges Award for Exceptional Merit:** The Montana Masonic Foundation, Inc., presented the Cornelius Hedges Award to RW Brother Thomas Spencer.

Masonic Educator of the Year Award: Bro. Roderick D. Brewer

Masonic Educational Program of the Year Award: Ionic Lodge #38

**Master Builder Award:** Morning Star No. 5, Gallatin Lodge No. 6, Missoula No. 13, Deer No. 14, Dillon No. 16, Bozeman No. 18, Butte No. 22, Stevensville No. 28, Ashlar No. 29, Cascade No. 34, Ionic No. 38, Victor No. 43, Doric No. 53, Havre No. 55, Euclid No. 58, Whitefish No. 64, Corinthian No. 72, Lower Yellowstone No. 90, Eureka No. 93, Delta No. 128, Trinity No. 152, Sentinel No. 155.

## **Grand Lodge Budget**

Grand Lodge Budget for 2016-2017

Per-capita & Reinstatement Fee for 2017-2018 is \$42.25

PASSED

PASSED

#### Legislation

**GMR 2017-01** Seeks to amend Section 25052, to provide a penalty should a Masonic Lodge fail to attend the Annual Grand Lodge Communication for three years in a row and to provide for an exemption to the penalty.

\*\*FAIL\*\*

**GMR 2017-02** Seeks to amend Sections 240 of the Constitution, to provide for the position of **PASS**Assistant Grand Treasurer. (Holdover to 152<sup>nd</sup> Session)

**GMR 2017-3A** Seeks to amend Section 470 of the Constitution, to provide that the Grand **PASS**Masters Recommendations are not due until 10 days after the due date for Proposed (Holdover to 152<sup>nd</sup> Session)
Resolutions and Committee Reports.

**GMR 2017-3B** Seeks to amend Section 50310, to provide that the Grand Masters

Recommendations are not due until 10 days after the due date for Proposed Resolutions and Committee Reports.

**R 2017 01** Seeks to amend Section 470 of the Constitution, to clarify the process to timely submit resolution, reports and recommendations; and when void. Also seeks to create a new (Holdover to 152<sup>nd</sup> Session) Section, to provide that legislative changes contained within reports or recommendations must be presented separately for action.

**R 2017 02** Proposes to amend the Constitution adding a new Section, that the Tellers report *PASS* contain the number of written ballots cast for and against each legislative item and Each *(Holdover to 152<sup>nd</sup> Session)* Elected Officer.

R 2017 03 Seeks to amend Section 1060 of the Constitution, seeking that all legislative
Recommendations by the Grand Master be held outside the content of the Grand
Master's Annual Report.

PASS

(Holdover to 152<sup>nd</sup> Session)

#### LODGES NOT REPRESENTED

The following Lodges were not represented at the seven Annual Communications prior to the 150<sup>th</sup> Session:

Flint Creek No. 11, Benton No. 25, Glendive No. 31, Augusta No. 54, Terry No. 74, Scobey No. 109, Park No. 140.

The following Lodges were not represented during the 150<sup>th</sup> Annual Communication:

Montana No. 2, Flint Creek No. 11, Benton No. 25, Glendive No. 31, Ruby No. 36, Kalispell No. 42, Choteau No. 44, Augusta No. 54, Malta No. 57, Wisdom No. 61, Terry No. 74, Western Star No. 104, Scobey No. 109, Ekalaka No. 120, Park No. 140, Jordan No. 148, Rimrock No. 149.

The following Lodges were not represented during the 151st Annual Communication:

Montana No.2, Diamond city No. 7, Mystic Tie Riverside No. 17, Benton No. 25, Yellowstone No. 26, Friendship No. 37, North Star No. 46, Chinook No. 50, Augusta No. 54, Malta No. 57, Wisdom No.61, Unity No.71, Corinthian No. 72, Terry No. 74, Saints John No. 92, Kyle No. 96, Captain Scott No.98, Western Star No. 104, Scobey No. 109, Billings No. 113, Ekalaka No. 120, Powder River No. 135, Circle No. 136, Jordan No. 148.

# 2017-2018 Elected Grand Lodge Officers

Gerald L. Anderson Grand Master

Jeffrey Harada Deputy Grand Master
Lewie Fletcher Senior Grand Warden
Alan Frohberg Junior Grand Warden
Bruce W. Lahti Grand Treasurer
Daniel Gardiner Grand Secretary

# **Appointed Grand Lodge Officers**

Eugene "Bill" Murphy Senior Grand Deacon Junior Grand Deacon Frank W. Noble Johnathon Dahlquist Grand Marshal Senior Senior Grand Steward David Schantz Junior Grand Steward Kim M. Bowman **Grand Standard Bearer** Don Powell **Grand Sword Bearer** Sam Whitehead **Grand Pursuivant** Wade Riden **Grand Tyler** Keven Kidder

Richard Corrigan Grand Chaplain
Frank Tyro Grand Historian
John O. Baber Grand Organist

Gary J. Long Assistant Grand Treasurer

The 152ndAnnual Communication of the Grand Lodge of Montana will be June 21, 22 & 23, 2018 in Sidney, Montana.

Daniel Gardiner Grand Secretary

